#KISSMEMUNROE // BEIGE INTERVIEW

Beige Exclusive With Munroe Bergdorf

The following interview is from: http://www.beigeuk.com/2013/06/beige-exclusive-with-munroe-bergdorf/

DJ, model and trendsetter, Munroe Bergdorf is the one of the biggest personalities on the London scene. We caught up with her as she prepares to DJ at the launch party for Beige’s summer issue in conjunction with Kiss Me Cleopatra.

Munroe Bergdorf by Ayesha Hussain

How did you get into DJing?
I first gave it a go when I was at university in Brighton but I was awful, I mean… seriously bad. I had no idea what I was doing whatsoever…  I then started to take DJ lessons when I moved to London about four years ago. I then entered a few DJ contests and it built up from there really… There hasn’t been a master plan as such, it started off as just a bit of fun, but then people kept on booking me, so I assumed I was doing something right…

What sort of music do you play and what can we expect from your set at the Beige party on Wednesday?
My sets are really varied depending on the venue I’m playing at.  I love spinning Old Skool Hip Hop and RnB – the stuff that I was raised on… It always gets such a great crowd reaction and people really get in to it. Generally though, the music I play is a mix current RnB, Pop and Dance, with the occasional ‘OMG THEY DIDN’T JUST PLAY THAT’ old skool jam thrown in to keep people on their toes…  So yeah, you can expect pretty much just that…

Munroe Bergdorf by Ayesha Hussain

You also work as a model, most recently creating some stunning images with Ayesha Hussain. What sort of modelling assignment inspires you and why?
I love working with people who have their own individual style – I hate repeating myself when it comes to shoots or visuals. I think it’s important to always try and bring something new to the table, or what’s the point, right? I love shooting with Ayesha, she’s a good friend of mine and one of the most talented people I’ve ever met. She’s actually disgustingly gifted at everything she does and horrendously gorgeous – it’s actually quite gross…

Munroe Bergdorf by Ayesha Hussain

You’re going to be appearing in Kelli Ali’s video ‘Kiss Me Cleopatra’. How did you get to know Kelli and why do you enjoy working with her?
I am indeed!  I actually met Kelli for the first time after we had shot the music video. I was initially approached by the director of the clip, Kirsty Allison, who talked me through the video treatment and played me the track. I’ve been a huge Liz Taylor fan all my life, so I kind of jumped at the chance to play Cleopatra. Kelli and I have been in touch ever since we filmed the video. We met up recently for some afternoon tea which was lovely, she’s an amazing lady.

Munroe Bergdorf still image by Kirsty Allison Munroe Bergdorf still image by Kirsty Allison Munroe Bergdorf still image by Kirsty Allison

You’re playing Cleopatra in the video – a truly iconic figure. What’s your approach to the part and who has inspired your interpretation? Can we expect a bit of Elizabeth Taylor going on or something fabulously new and different?
The video actually includes some archive imagery of Ms Taylor, which I’m so glad Kirsty was able to include in the final cut. I’m playing a bit more of a modern take on Cleopatra. I don’t want to give too much away though, you’ll have to wait and see…

Behind the scenes image by Alexander Snelling Kelli Ali still image by Kirsty Allison Munroe Bergdorf still image by Kirsty Allison

You also work as a club host, and host the now legendary night Room Service with Jodie Harsh. What makes the perfect club host?
Basically it mainly boils down to knowing a lot of people who like to have fun and making sure that they attend the best events in town. It’s not actually as easy as it sounds, trust me on that one. What makes the perfect host?  Someone who can instantly walk into a room and get the party started; someone with a very extensive little black book, and someone with charm, uniqueness, nerve and talent, of course.

You’ve created clothing lines alongside such major labels as BOY LONDON. Where do you get your ideas from and what is your creative vision?
To be honest I just try to create items that I would wear myself or that I think like minded people would like to wear. BOY LONDON was a great platform for me and opened a lot of doors, but I’m definitely only just getting started, so I wouldn’t call myself a designer. I do however have a very sharp eye for what does and doesn’t work when it comes to fashion.

Munroe Bergdorf by Ayesha Hussain

What’s next in the wonderful world of Munroe Bergdorf…?
This summer is looking a bit crazy. I just got back from hosting a party in Tel Aviv for Room Service, which was bananas. Next month I’m going to be spinning in Berlin and Italy, then New York around September time. I like to take each day as it comes to be honest. There’s lots in the pipeline. I’m just making sure I enjoy it all and learn as much as I can along the way.

Images: Ayesha Hussain
Makeup: Martin Rab
Clothing: Ben Adams, Sorapol and Mr Woods
Music video stills: Kirsty Allison and Alexander Snelling
Words: Alex Hopkins

– See more at: http://www.beigeuk.com/2013/06/beige-exclusive-with-munroe-bergdorf/#sthash.iJ8Yuccn.dpuf

32 thoughts on “#KISSMEMUNROE // BEIGE INTERVIEW”

  1. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the
    whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  2. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind
    of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading this information So i am glad to
    exhibit that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.

    I so much no doubt will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this web site and give it a look regularly.

    Like

  3. Thank you for any other excellent article.
    Where else may anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal method of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am at the search for such info.

    Like

  4. Heya outstanding website! Does running a blog like this take a large amount of work?

    I’ve absolutely no understanding of computer programming however I
    had been hoping to start my own blog in the near
    future. Anyways, if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is off topic nevertheless I just wanted to ask.

    Cheers!

    Like

  5. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post
    reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking
    about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with
    my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Like

  7. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you
    are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

  8. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to
    mention that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I
    hope you write again very soon!

    Like

  9. hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this
    website, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load
    correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement
    in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of
    your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update
    this again soon.

    Like

  10. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through some of
    the posts I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I discovered
    it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

    Like

  11. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would
    appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested,
    feel free to send me an e mail.

    Like

  12. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written anyy better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room
    mate! He alwahs kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  13. My relatives every time say that I am killing my time here at net, however
    I know I am getting know-how daily by reading such good articles or reviews.

    Like

Leave a comment